Sign In   |   Join
NAIBA Legacy Award
Share |

 Legacy Award

Richard Ford is the author of the Bascombe novels, which include The Sportswriter and its sequels, Independence Day--the first novel to win the Pulitzer Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award--The Lay of the Land, and New York Times bestseller Let Me Be Frank with You. His other works include bestselling novel Canada and the short story collections Rock Springs and A Multitude of Sins, which contain many widely anthologized stories. Between Them: Remembering My Parents, a memoir will be out in May 2017 from Ecco. He lives in Boothbay, Maine, with his wife Kristina Ford.



 photo credit Karen Robinson

Join NAIBA in celebrating the career of Pulitzer Prize winning author, Richard Ford, the 2017 Legacy Award recipient. Mr. Ford will appear at the NAIBA Fall Conference Awards Banquet on Saturday, October 7 to receive his award. 

In 2004, the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association established a Legacy Award in recognition of those individuals whose body of work contributed significantly to the realm of American arts and letters. Candidates for this award were to either reside in the region served by the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association, or who created work that reflected the character of the geographical area so represented, and the spirit of the independent bookselling community found therein.

Previous winners of the Legacy Award




Richard Russo

Jules Feiffer


Taylor Branch

Judy Blume




Carl Lennertz



John Sargent
Carla Cohen and Barbara Meade of Politics and Prose
Paul Auster

Morgan Entrekin
Joyce Carol Oates
Louis Auchincloss




Pete Hamill


Anne Tyler